• France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • The Netherlands
  • Spain
  • Brazil

Edge of Eternity

Edge of Eternity is the sweeping, passionate conclusion to the Century trilogy.

Throughout the ‘Century Trilogy’, Ken has followed the fortunes of five intertwined families — American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh — as they make their way through the twentieth century. Now they come to one of the most tumultuous eras of all, the enormous social, political, and economic turmoil of the 1960s through the 1980s, from civil rights, assassinations, mass political movements and Vietnam to the Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile Crisis, Presidential impeachment, revolution — and rock and roll.

East German teacher Rebecca Hoffman discovers she’s been spied on by the Stasi for years and commits an impulsive act that will affect her family for the rest of their lives… George Jakes, the child of a mixed-race couple, bypasses a corporate law career to join Robert F. Kennedy’s Justice Department, and finds himself in the middle not only of the seminal events of the civil rights battle, but a much more personal battle of his own… Cameron Dewar, the grandson of a Senator, jumps at the chance to do some official and unofficial espionage for a cause he believes in, only to discover that the world is a much more dangerous place than he’d imagined… Dimka Dvorkin, a young aide to Nikita Khruschev, becomes a prime agent both for good and for ill as the U.S. and the Soviet Union race to the brink of nuclear war, while his twin sister Tania carves out a role that will take her from Moscow to Cuba to Prague to Warsaw – and into history.

As always with Ken, the historical background is brilliantly researched and rendered, the action fast-moving, the characters rich in nuance and emotion. With the hand of a master, he brings us into a world we thought we knew but now will never seem the same again.


Read the first chapter

Listen to an excerpt

See the cast of characters

See the family trees

Read the reviews

See the bestseller lists

Timeline of major events

Edge of Eternity timeline

A timeline of the major events of the era, kindly provided by Editora Arqueiro, the publishers of the Brazilian edition, Eternidade por um Fio. Click on the image for a larger version or download it.


  • What Follett has achieved in these novels is remarkable, juggling plots and characters and timelines while keeping the pages turning over the course of three long but very satisfying books. — Erik Spanberg in The Christian Science Monitor.
  • He is able to create characters so vivid it is easy to keep them alive in our mind… What is most impressive about this book and the two that preceded it, is the fact Follett never forgets he is telling a story. The historical events are the backdrop but the characters are the focal point. Good storytellers know this and Follett is an excellent one. We can only anxiously anticipate what he will present to us next. — Jackie K Cooper in the Huffington Post
  • This mesmerizing final installment is an exhaustive but rewarding reading experience dense in thematic heft, yet flowing with spicy, expertly paced melodrama, character-rich exploits, familial histrionics, and international intrigue. — Publishers Weekly, 23 June

Read more reviews here

Behind the scenes

Watch a series of videos where Ken discusses his research.

The struggle for civil rights in the United States — retracing the route of the Freedom Riders.

Published as

Edge of Eternity by Ken Follett, Dutton, New York, September 2014.

The Century Trilogy

The first novel in the Century trilogy, Fall of Giants, was published in September 2010. The second novel, Winter of the World, was published in September 2012.