• France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • The Netherlands
  • Spain
  • Brazil

The Pillars of the Earth

Director and Crew

Sergio Mimica-GezzanThe series is directed by Sergio Mimica-Gezzan (Heroes, Saving Grace, Into the West). Mimica-Gezzan (pictured, right) worked as Steven Spielberg’s first assistant director on Saving Private Ryan and Schindler’s List, sharing the DGA directorial awards for both films with Spielberg.

The novel has been adapted by award-winning writer John Pielmeier (Emmy winner Hitler: The Rise of Evil and Emmy nominated The Memory Keeper’s Daughter), who also plays the role of ‘Cuthbert’.

The series was produced by Emmy and Golden Globe nominated Tandem Communications (Ring of the Nibelungs, Impact, Lost City Raiders) and multi award-winning Muse Entertainment (Human Trafficking, Tales from the Neverending Story, Durham County) in association with Oscar, Emmy and Golden Globe nominated Scott Free Films (CBS’s series Numb3rs, Emmy nominated minis The Andromeda Strain and The Company).

The series assembles an impressive array of veteran producing talent, including Emmy-winner David Rosemont (Into the West, Door to Door); Sir Ridley Scott, whose films include Alien, Thelma & Louise, Gladiatior, Black Hawk Down and American Gangster), Tony Scott (Top Gun, Man on Fire, The Taking of Pelham 123), Rola Bauer (Ring of the Nibelungs), Michael Prupas (Human Trafficking), David Zucker (Numb3rs), Tim Halkin (Lost City Raiders) and Jonas Bauer (Impact), and Emmy nominated John Ryan (Hitler: The Rise of Evil, Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows).


Tandem Communications and Muse Entertainment’s broadcast and home video partners on The Pillars of the Earth are Starz LLC in the United States, ProSiebenSat1’s German FreeTV Group, Canada’s Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, The Movie Network and Movie Central, Spain’s Sogecable, Austria’s ORF, Germany’s Universum Film Home Entertainment, Hungary’s TV2 and Sony Pictures Home Entertainment – amongst others.

  • Oscar, Emmy and Golden Globe are the registered trademarks of their respective organisations.