Ken Follett - Master Storyteller and Best-Selling Author

  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • The Netherlands
  • Spain
  • Brazil


Edge of Eternity

Edge of Eternity, the sweeping, passionate conclusion to the Century trilogy, was #1 on the bestseller lists in the USA, UK, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy and Spain…

Australia Brazil Canada Denmark Germany Italy New Zealand Serbia South Africa Spain Sweden United Kingdom United States


Throughout the 'Century Trilogy', Ken has followed the fortunes of five intertwined families – American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh – as they make their way through the twentieth century. Now they come to one of the most tumultuous eras of all, the enormous social, political, and economic turmoil of the 1960s through the 1980s, from civil rights, assassinations, mass political movements and Vietnam to the Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile Crisis, Presidential impeachment, revolution – and rock and roll.

Available in …

Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany and Austria, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, United Kingdom and Commonwealth and the United States.

UK paperback

Edge of Eternity will be published in a paperback edition by Macmillan on 30 July 2015.

To be published next in …

Edge of Eternity will also be published in China, Czech Republic (May 2015), Finland, Greece, Israel, Japan, Korea, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia.

Winter of the World

The New York Times #1 best-seller. Now available in paperback in Canada, the United Kingdom and Commonwealth, and the United States.

Berlin in 1933 is in upheaval. Eleven-year-old Carla von Ulrich struggles to understand the tensions disrupting her family as Hitler strengthens his grip on Germany. Into this turmoil steps her mother’s formidable friend and former British MP, Ethel Leckwith, and her student son, Lloyd, who soon learns for himself the brutal reality of Nazism.

Lloyd also encounters a group of Germans resolved to oppose Hitler – but are they willing to go so far as to betray their country? Such people are closely watched by Volodya, a Russian with a bright future in Red Army Intelligence.

The international clash of military power and personal beliefs that ensues will sweep over them all as it rages from Cable Street in London’s East End to Pearl Harbor in Hawaii, from Spain to Stalingrad, from Dresden to Hiroshima.

At Cambridge Lloyd is irresistibly drawn to dazzling American socialite Daisy Peshkov, who represents everything his left-wing family despise. But Daisy is more interested in aristocratic Boy Fitzherbert – amateur pilot, party lover and leading light of the British Union of Fascists.

Back in Berlin, Carla worships golden boy Werner from afar. But nothing will work out the way they expect as their lives and the hopes of the world are smashed by the greatest and cruellest war in the history of the human race.

Winter of the World is the second novel in the uniquely ambitious and deeply satisfying ‘Century’ trilogy. The third novel, Edge of Eternity, will be published in the second half of 2014.

Fall of Giants

Published worldwide on 28 September 2010, and debuted at #1 on The New York Times’ Bestseller list for hardcover fiction!

Fall of Giants is a magnificent new historical epic. The first novel in the ‘Century’ trilogy, it follows the fates of five interrelated families – American, German, Russian, English and Welsh – as they move through the world-shaking dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women’s suffrage.

Thirteen-year-old Billy Williams enters a man’s world in the Welsh mining pits… Gus Dewar, an American law student rejected in love, finds a surprising new career in Woodrow Wilson’s White House… two orphaned Russian brothers, Grigori and Lev Peshkov, embark on radically different paths half a world apart when their plan to emigrate to America falls afoul of war, conscription and revolution…

Billy’s sister, Ethel, a housekeeper for the aristocratic Fitzherberts, takes a fateful step above her station, while Lady Maud Fitzherbert herself crosses deep into forbidden territory when she falls in love with Walter von Ulrich, a spy at the German Embassy in London…

These characters and many others find their lives inextricably entangled as, in a saga of unfolding drama and intriguing complexity, Fall of Giants moves seamlessly from Washington to St. Petersburg, from the dirt and danger of a coal mine to the glittering chandeliers of a palace, from the corridors of power to the bedrooms of the mighty.

As always with Ken, the historical background is brilliantly researched and rendered, the action fast-moving, the characters rich in nuance and emotion. It is destined to be a new classic.


Winter of the World (US edition) Fall of Giants (US edition) World Without End (US edition) Whiteout Hornet Flight Jackdaws Code to Zero
The Hammer of Eden The Third Twin A Place called Freedom A Dangerous Fortune Night Over Water The Pillars of the Earth On Wings of Eagles
The Key to Rebecca The Man from St Petersburg Lie Down with Lions Triple Eye of the Needle Paper Money The Modigliani Scandal

List of my novels with short descriptions, in the order in which they were written, and also as an Adobe Acrobat file.

Overviews of my early books, children’s books and early crime novels.

The covers on this page are for the US editions. For other edition covers, please see the individual book pages.

For more…

Richard Turner – Ken Follett: A Critical CompanionCarlos Ramet Triumph of SuspenseFor critical interpretation of my novels, please look out for:

Ken Follett: A Critical Companion, by Richard C Turner (Greenwood Press, 1996)

Ken Follett: The Transformation of a Writer, by Carlos Ramet (Bowling Green, 1999)

Ken Follett and the Triumph of Suspense: A Popular Writer Transcends Genres, by Carlos Ramet (McFarland and Company, 2015)